Volunteer Voice – Grete Hale

Written by Grete Hale

Grete HaleThe last thing my 89-year-old father said on his death-bed was, “All I ask of my children is that they be a contributor.”  And so it has been for my life.

My journey serving on dozens of volunteer boards in my community and country, resulted in receiving for the Governor General last year, Canada’s highest civilian honour; The Order of Canada.

I feel immeasurably wealthy from serving organizations from the Salvation Army, the Hospice of May Court, The Order of St. Lazarus of Jerusalem, Leadership Ottawa, The Community Foundation of Ottawa, Friends of the National Library of Canada among many others.

Recently my 15 years on the Board of Beechwood Cemetery has culminated in helping build a building unique in the world.  Canada’s National memorial Cemetery is a place where every world faith can worship and honour loved ones who have passed on. What an incredible journey this has been; of risk, teamwork, fun, faith and fulfillment.

Life continues to be a daily gift from God.  I hope I can continue to fulfill my Father’s wish of being a contributor until I leave this wonderful world.

Want to get involved with the organizations that Grete mentions above?

Visit them on Volunteer Ottawa‘s website:

Leadership Ottawa
The Salvation Army Booth Centre
The Salvation Army Ottawa Grace Manor
Community Foundation of Ottawa

Do you know an amazing volunteer in our community who should be recognized?

Let’s work together to get them the recognition they deserve!
Simply send an email to communications@volunteerottawa.ca and tell Volunteer Ottawa all about them!

Leave a Reply

